Dizzy Gillespie

Complete Studio Recordings (99015)

¡Oferta! Complete Studio Recordings Ver más grande


Complete Studio Recordings

Dizzy Gillespie

American Jazz Classics


AJC 123014




Complete Studio Recordings

Más detalles

CD 12,36 €


This collection presents the complete studio recordings made by the outstanding 1959 Dizzy Gillespie Quintet with Junior Mance and Les Spann. These recordings are also interesting in that, with the sole exception of Les Spann's flute on a few tracks, no other horn is heard here but Dizzy's trumpet. Included are the albums Have Trumpet, Will Excite and The Ebullient Mr. Gillespie in their entirety, as well as all of the other tracks by this formation originally issued on singles and compilations. Two complete rarely heard 1954 sessions by the Gillespie quintet/sextet featuring Hank Mobley and Jimmy Cleveland have been added as a bonus.


DIZZY GILLESPIE - trumpet & vocals.
LES SPANN - guitar & flute,
SAM JONES - bass,
JOHNNY HODGES - alto sax, added on CD 2 [4]
FRANCISCO "CHINO" POZO - congas on CD 1 [1] & [12-13]
New York, February 17-20, 1959.

BONUS TRACKS (CD2, tracks 10-17):

Dizzy Gillespie (tp, vcl), Hank Mobley (ts), Wade Lege (p), Lou Hackney (b), Charlie Persip (d). Jimmy Cleveland (tb) added on 14-16.
New York, May 25 & June 8, 1954.

CD 1: Total Time: 73:50

01. My Heart Belongs To Daddy
02. My Man
03. Moonglow
04. St. Louis Blues
05. Woody'n You
06. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams
07. There Is No Greater Love
08. I Found A Million Dollar Baby, (In The Five And Ten Cent Store)
09. Swing Low, Sweet Cadillac
10. Always
11. Willow Weep For Me
12. Ungawa
13. Lorraine

CD 2: Total Time: 74:48

01. Girl Of My Dreams
02. Constantinople
03. The Umbrella Man
04. Squatty Roo
05. Oo-Shoo-Be-Doo-Be
06. I Found A Million Dollar Baby (In The Five And Ten Cent Store) [Alt Tk]
07. There Is No Greater Love [Alt Tk 1]
08. There Is No Greater Love [Alt Tk 2]
09. There Is No Greater Love [alt tk 3]
10. Sugar Hips
11. One Alone (Lonely One)
12. Hey Pete! Let's Eat More Meat
13. Money Honey
14. Blue Mood
15. Rails
16. Devil And The Flesh
17. Rumbola