Anita O`Day

Cool Heat : Sings Jimmy Giuffre Arrangements (99016)

Cool Heat : Sings Jimmy Giuffre Arrangements Ver más grande


Cool Heat : Sings Jimmy Giuffre Arrangements

Anita O`Day

American Jazz Classics


AJC 123015




Cool Heat : Sings Jimmy Giuffre Arrangements

Más detalles

CD 8,26 €


This release presents the complete original album Cool Heat, which showcases the superlative Anita O'Day singing tailor-made arrangements by Jimmy Giuffre. She is backed by a variety of all-star combos featuring Frank Rosolino, Art Pepper, Conte Candoli, Jack Sheldon, Jim Hall, and of course, Giuffre himself. As a bonus, the complete album Anita O'Day Swings Cole Porter, recorded that same week, as well as the only track featuring O'Day from the soundtrack of the film "The Gene Krupa Story".


[1-12] COOL HEAT (4Stars Downbeat Magazine):

[2, 4, 8 & 10] Frank Rosolino (tb), Jimy Giuffre (reeds, arr),
Alan Harding, Bud Shank (reeds), Jim Hall (g), George Morow (b) Mel Lewis (d).
Los Angeles, April 6, 1959.

[1,5,9 & 11] Frank Rosolino, Lester Robert son (tb), Art Peper (as),
Richie Kamuca (ts), Jimmy Giuffre (ts, bar, arr), George Morow (b), Mel Lewis (d).
Los Angeles, April 7, 1959.

[3,6-7 & 12] Conte Candoli, Tomy Reeves, Jack Sheldon (tp), Frank Rosolino,
Lester Robert son, Gil Falco (tb), Jim Hall (g), George Morow (b), Mel Lewis (d),
Jimmy Giuffre (arr). Los Angeles, April 8, 1959.

[13-24] Bonus album: ANITA O'DAY swings COLE PORTER with BILLY MAY:

Big band conducted by Billy May featuring Mannie Klein, Conrad Gozzo (tp),
Ronie Lang (as), George Morow (b) & Mel Lewis (d), among others. Billy May (arr).
Los Angeles, April 2 & 9, 1959.

[25] Bonus track : From the soundtrack of the film The Gene Krupa Story.
Beny Carter (as), Eddie Miller (ts), Red Nichols (cornet), Moe Schneider (tb),
Heinie Beau (cl, arr), Barney Kessel (g), Jess Stac y (p), Mort y Corb (b),
Gene Krupa (d). Los Angeles, December 23, 1959.


01. Mack The Knife
02. Easy Come, Easy Go
03. Orphan Annie
04. You're A Clown
05. Gone With The Wind
06. Hooray For Hollywood
07. It Had Be You
08. Come Rain Or Come Shine
09. Hershey Bar
10. A Lover Is Blue
11. My Heart Belongs To Daddy
12. The Way You Look Tonight
13. Just One Of Those Things
14. Love For Sale
15. You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
16. Easy To Love
17. I Get A Kick Out Of You
18. All Of You
19. Get Out Of Town
20. I've Got You Under My Skin
21. Night And Day
22. It's De-Lovely
23. I Love You
24. What Is This Thing Called Love?
25. Memories Of You,

Total Time: 60:44

“Miss O'Day's over-all feeling and delivery mark her as one of the few who can accurately be called a jazz singer. The variety of material she chooses and performs puts most other singers to shame in the imagination department. If you are any kind of Anita O'Day fan, get this one.” (Ira Gitler)