Mississippi John Hurt

Spike Driver Blues: Complete 1928 Okeh Recordings (600887)

¡Oferta! Spike Driver Blues: Complete 1928 Okeh Recordings Ver más grande


Spike Driver Blues: Complete 1928 Okeh Recordings

Mississippi John Hurt

Soul Jam


SOU 149312




Spike Driver Blues: Complete 1928 Okeh Recordings

Más detalles

CD 8,26 €


This newly remastered CD release includes Mississippi John Hurt’s seminal recordings. The set contains three different sessions recorded by the blues giant in 1928. The first date was captured in Memphis, and the other two in New York City. OKeh Records subsequently issued them all as 78rpm sides.

In addition, this essential collector’s CD contains 6 bonus tracks, consisting of lesser-known numbers which were taped years later. All of these sensational recordings are a treasure of incalculable value, which would form the basist of John Hurt’s legend and secure his reputation as one of the greatest blues figures of that classic era. It is truly an indispensable set for any folk-blues devotee.


Solo recordings by MISSISSIPPI JOHN HURT, vocals and guitar.
Recorded in Memphis and New York City, 1928.


01 Frankie
02 Nobody’s Dirty Business
03 Stack O’Lee
04 Candy Man Blues
05 Blessed Be the Name
06 Praying on The Old Camp Ground
07 Blue Harvest Blues
08 Spike Driver Blues
09 Louis Collins (aka The Angels Laid Him Away)
10 Got the Blues (Can’t Be Satisfied)
11 Ain’t No Tellin’
12 Avalon Blues
13 Big Leg Blues
14 Salty Dog (*)
15 Shake That Thing (*)
16 Talking Casey (*)
17 Lonesome Blues (*)
18 Trouble, I’ve Had It All My Days (*)
19 Hot Time in The Old Town Tonight (*)

Total time: 58:58