Roscoe Mitchell

Bells For The Southside (ECM 2494/95)

Bells For The Southside Ver más grande

Bells For The Southside

Roscoe Mitchell



ECM 150299

ECM 2494/95



CD 20,65 €


Roscoe Mitchell contrasts and – for the first time - combines the sounds and distinctive characters of his four trios in an exhilarating double album recorded at Chicago’s Museum of Contemporary Art. Multi-instrumentalist and composer Mitchell had been invited to premiere new music at the museum, in the context of the exhibition The Freedom Principle, which celebrated the directions in music and art set in motion by the AACM on Chicago’s South Side. Starting out by exploring “Spatial Aspects of the Sound”, with the ensemble featuring both Craig Taborn and Tyshawn Sorey on pianos, Mitchell offers what amounts to a composer self-portrait in continually changing colours and textures, reflecting on his own history while looking toward the future.


  • ROSCOE MITCHELL, saxophones, flute, piccolo
  • JAMES FEI, saxophones, contra-alto clarinet, electronics
  • HUGH RAGIN, trumpet, piccolo trumpet
  • TYSHAWN SOREY, trombone, piano, drums, percussion
  • CRAIG TABORN, piano, organ, electronics
  • JARIBU SHAHID, double bass, bass guitar, percussion
  • TANI TABBAL, drums, percussion
  • KIKANJU BAKU, drums, percussion
  • WILLIAM WINANT, percussion, vibraphone

Recorded September 2015, Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago.


  • 01. Spatial Aspects of the Sound
  • 02. Panoply
  • 03. Prelude to a Rose
  • 04. Dancing in the Canyon
  • 05. EP 7849
  • 06. Bells for the South Side


  • 01. Prelude to the Card Game, Cards for Drums, and The Final Hand
  • 02. The Last Chord
  • 03. Six Gongs and Two Woodblocks
  • 04. R509A Twenty B
  • 05. Red Moon In The Sky / Odwalla