Shirley Scott

Lean on Me (CA 50025)

Lean on Me Ver más grande

Lean on Me

Shirley Scott


CA 50025

LPS 114084

CA 50025



LP 14,03 €

A great little Shirley Scott album – perhaps her best for Cadet! Unlike the others, which have a complicated set of arrangements, this one has a stripped-down jazz funk feel that reminds us a lot of the classic early 70s groovers on Prestige Records. Shirley plays some very nice lines on the organ, over tight drums from Idris Muhammad that hit that tasty breakbeat sound on the best cuts! The standout numbers are the album's versions of "Lean On Me" and "By The Time I Get To Phoenix", both strong sample tracks with nice drums. The rest of the group includes George Coleman, Roland Prince, and J. Daniel Turner


  • Shirley Scott - vocals
  • Roland Prince - guitar
  • Idris Muhammad - drums
  • J. Daniel Turner - flute, alto sax
  • George Coleman - tenor sax


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Lean On Me
  • A2. Royal Love
  • A3. Smile
  • A4. Funky Blues
  • SIDE B
  • B1. By The Time I Get To PhoenixV
  • B2. How Insensitive
  • B3. You Can't Mess Around With Love
  • B4. Carla's Dance