Lester Young

The Complete Aladdin Recordings (EJC 55748)

The Complete Aladdin Recordings Ver más grande

The Complete Aladdin Recordings

Lester Young

Essential Jazz Classics


EJC 154373

EJC 55748



CD 5,37 €

This release presents the great Lester Young’s complete sessions for the small Aladdin label, which were made right after the saxophonist’s release from prison and dishonourable discharge from the U.S. Army. Althoughlegend has it he was never the same after his experiences in the military, Young’s playing throughout these recordings
exceeds even his own high standards.

While Lester’s Army experiences undoubtedly left their mark on the saxophonist, it would be incorrect to state that all of his troubles began at that time. Being subjected to strict treatment (in which racism played an important role) was certainly hard on Lester. However, it is also true that he was a complex person with strong self-destructive impulses. However, his playing here is superb in most cases, and his interaction with other great musicians like Nat King Cole, Dodo Marmarosa, Joe Albany, Argonne Thornton (who later changed his name to Sadik Hakim), Willie Smith, Howard McGhee and his Basie companion Vic Dickenson proves to be very effective. As a bonus to the Aladdin sessions, we have included the other studio session by Lester with Nat King Cole, recorded for Norman Granz for his label Norgran in 1946.


LESTER YOUNG, tenor sax on all tracks

FEATURING: Willie Smith (as), Howard McGhee (tp),
Vic Dickenson (tb), Nat King Cole, Joe Albany, Dodo
Marmarosa (p), Chuck Wayne, Dave Barbour (g),
Red Callender (b), Chico Hamilton, Roy Haynes, Tiny
Kahn (d), among others.

Recorded in Los Angeles, Chicago and New York, 1942-1947.

Los Angeles, March-April, 1946.


CD 1

01. Indiana
02. I Can’t Get Started
03. Tea For Two
04. Body And Soul
05. D. B. Blues
06. Lester Blows Again
07. These Foolish Things
08. Jumpin’ At Mesner’s
09. It’s Only A Paper Moon
10. After You’Ve Gone
11. Lover Come Back To Me
12. Jammin’ With Lester
13. You’re Driving Me Crazy
14. New Lester Lears In
15. Lester’s Be Bop Boogie
16. She’s Funny That Way
17. Sunday
18. S. M. Blues
19. Jumpin’ With Symphony Sid
20. No Eyes Blues
21. Sax-O-Be-Bop
22. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
23. One O’clock Jump
24. Jumpin’ At The Woodside

CD 2

01. Movin’ With Lester
02. Easy Does It
03. Easy Does It (alternate take)
04. I’m Confessin’
05. Lester Smooths It Out
06. Just Cooling
07. Tea For Two
08. East Of The Sun
09. The Sheik Of Araby
10. Something To Remember You By
11. Untitled Instrumental
12. Please Let Me Forget
13. He Don’t Love Me Anymore
14. Pleasing Man Blues
15. See See Rider
16. It’s Better To Give Than Receive
17. Back To The Land*
18. I Cover The Waterfront*
19. Somebody Loves Me*
20. I’ve Found A NeW bABY*
21. The Man I Love*
22. Peg O’My Heart*
23. I Want To Be Happy*
24. Mean To Me*

Disc Two, 17-24: BONUS TRACKS
LESTER YOUNG TRIO: Lester Young (ts),
Nat King Cole (p), Buddy Rich (d).