William Parker

Flower in a Stained-Glass Window (CENT1018/19)

Flower in a Stained-Glass Window Ver más grande

Flower in a Stained-Glass Window

William Parker

Aum Fidelity


AUM 155633




Este producto ya no está disponible

CD 16,52 €


This special edition release is comprised of two newly recorded full-length albums, distinct in personnel & approach, yet complementary in ethos. William Parker is (and has been) on a profound and voluminous creative flow. Both of these albums, recorded in Summer 2018, follow up his exemplary 3CD box set Voices Fall From the Sky. Flower in a Stained-Glass Window features vocalist Leena Conquest, a tremendous interpreter of Parker's work in song. She sings and speaks atop of and within a fresh ensemble featuring Parker's bass (and first time ever on the trap drum set!) together with long-time compatriots trombonist Steve Swell & saxophonist Dave Sewelson, South African drummer Kesivan Naidoo, Parker's son Isaiah on piano, as well as younger saxophonic talents Abraham Mennen and Nick Lyons. This work is dedicated to the inspiration of Martin Luther King, and the lyrical content pulls no punches delivering the truth as Parker sees it. The message is: social and political justice and equality for all human beings. Flower.. was slated for release on it's own, until William Parker had a summer residency at The Stone/ New School in New York in which "The Blinking of The Ear" was presented in wholly extended form by an ensemble featuring Daniel Carter (see, the recently released Seraphic Light), Steve Swell, Eri Yamamoto on piano, William Parker and young Leonid Galaganov on drums, with the mezzo soprano singer AnnMarie Sandy. This composition first appeared on the Voices Fall From The Sky box set in a voice/piano/drums reading. Here, as Parker writes in the liner notes: The dream was to combine written music with improvised music; slowly and seamlessly folding them together as one. This sextet live version wholly realized that dream; it was an extraordinary event in music called universal tonality. The piano and voice were familiar with their parts, the quartet came in used the idea: hear a sound feel a sound. Nothing was predetermined and it really happened. So it was forthwith decided to include this recording and make it a true double-album event! Astonishing work, all of this, packaged in a limited edition deluxe 8-panel digipak, with liner notes by William Parker.


ANNMARIE SANDY, mezzo soprano
DANIEL CARTER, trumpet, tenor, alto & soprano
STEVE SWELL, trombone


01. Fallen Flower
02. Gone
03. Emmett Till
04. Broken Earth
05. I Had a Dream Last Night
06. Flag
07. Give Me Back My Drum
08. Living Hope
09. Children
10. What Is That About?
11. Music Song
12. Samba
13. Meditation on Freedom
14. Without Love Everything Will Fall
15. Dark Remembrance
16. Heavenly Home Meditation on Peace, Pt. 1
17. Heavenly Home Meditation on Peace, Pt. 2