Harold Mabern

Iron Man Live at Smoke (JAZZ)

Iron Man Live at Smoke Ver más grande


Iron Man Live at Smoke

Harold Mabern

Smoke Sessions


SMK 156505



CD 16,49 €


Pianist and jazz legend Harold Mabern makes his annual Countdown Festival appearance to celebrate the release of his new double album The Iron Man: Live at Smoke recorded at last year’s festival. “Harold Mabern is one of our last living piano legends…His affinity for the blues, honed from Memphis, through the Windy City, and arrival in the Big Apple, make his piano playing a treat…Long live Harold Mabern,” states Audiophile Audition. A force of nature at 82, Mabern is still one of the most powerful and illuminating pianists in jazz. Joining Mabern again this year (as on the recording) are tenor saxophonist Eric Alexander, bassist John Webber and Drummer Joe Farnsworth.


  • HAROLD MABERN, piano
  • ERIC ALEXANDER, tenor sax
  • JOHN WEBBER, bass

Recorded January 7, 2018 at Smoke in New York City.

CD 1:

  • 01. A Few Miles From Memphis
  • 02. I Get A Kick Out Of You
  • 03. I Know That You Know
  • 04. I Remember Clifford
  • 05. T-Bone Steak
  • 06. Almost Like Being In Love
  • 07. Dear Lord

CD 2:

  • 01. Nightlife in Tokyo
  • 02. She's Out Of My Life
  • 03. How Insensitive
  • 04. Mr. P.C.
  • 05. One A Clear Day (You Can See Forever)
  • 06. You Are Too Beautiful
  • 07. Rakin' And Scrapin'