David `Fathead´Newman

Fathead: Ray Charles Presents David Newman (JAZZ)

Fathead: Ray Charles Presents David Newman Ver más grande

SD 12304

Fathead: Ray Charles Presents David Newman

David `Fathead´Newman

Speakers Corner


LPS 157486



LP 24,78 €

• 180 gram virgin vinyl


The talented David Newman, who alternates on this album between tenor and alto, made his debut as a leader at this session. Since he was in Ray Charles' band at the time, Newman was able to use Charles on piano along with Hank Crawford (here called "Bennie Crawford") on baritone, trumpeter Marcus Belgrave, bassist Edgar Willis, and drummer Milt Turner. The music is essentially soulful bebop, with the highlights including "Hard Times," "Fathead," "Mean to Me," and "Tin Tin Deo." Everyone plays well and this was a fine start to David "Fathead" Newman's career.


  • DAVID "Fathead" NEWMAN, alto & tenor sax
  • RAY CHARLES, piano
  • BENNIE CRAWFORD, baritone sax
  • MARCUS BELGRAVE, trumpet
  • EDGAR WILLIS, bass
  • MILTON TURNER, drums

Recorded: November 1958 at Atlantic Recording Studios, New York


  • A1. Hard Times
  • A2. Weird Beard
  • A3. Willow Weep for Me
  • A4. Bill for Bennie
B1. Sweet Eyes B2. Fathead B3. Mean to Me B4. Tin Tin Deo