Dave Douglas

Uplift - Twelve Pieces For Positive Action (GRE-CD-1068)

Uplift - Twelve Pieces For Positive Action Ver más grande

Uplift - Twelve Pieces For Positive Action

Dave Douglas

Greenleaf Music


GRL 159799




CD 15,69 €


The American trumpeter states at the outset that his latest project started as a reminder “to stay positive, stay active and stay engaged”. His aide memoire takes the form of a feisty sextet that twins his brittle-and-brassy lines with the gruff warmth of Joe Lovano’s tenor sax and adds two electric guitars, Bill Laswell’s grungy bass and the thump and drive of Ian Chang’s drums.

The album, subtitled Twelve Pieces for Positive Action, collects the issue-related compositions he released individually throughout 2018. The set opens with the intertwining lead voices and shimmering guitars of “The Power of the Vote”, first released in January, and closes with the recently available festive hymnal “Truth is Truth”.


  • DAVE DOUGLAS, trumpet
  • JOE LOVANO, tenor sax, alto clarinet, alto flute
  • MARI HALVORSON, guitar
  • JULIAN LAGE, guitar
  • BILL LASWELL, bass
  • IAN CHANG, drums and electronics

Orange Music Sound Studio in Orange, New Jersey, December 11, 2017


  • 01. One: The Power of the Vote
  • 02. Lift All Boats
  • 03. Every Town
  • 04. Truly the Sun
  • 05. Love Is A Battle
  • 06. Trail of Dreams
  • 07. A Tree Planted by the River of Water
  • 08. Sharing a Small Planet
  • 09. Shine Like the Dawn
  • 10. Fear No Love
  • 11. The Garden
  • 12. Truth Is Truth