Adrian Cunningham

Play Lerner & Loewe (ARCD 19740)

Play Lerner & Loewe Ver más grande

Play Lerner & Loewe

Adrian Cunningham



ARB 160418

ARCD 19740



CD 12,38 €


The leader clearly had a famous precedent in mind when he recorded his new album, Adrian Cunningham & His Friends Play Lerner & Loewe. Cunningham, an Australian reedist now based in New York, has crafted a gem in the spirit of 1956’s Shelly Manne & His Friends’ Modern Jazz Performances Of Songs From ‘My Fair Lady.’ For that vintage, influential recording, the lineup was a trio: Manne (drums), André Previn (piano) and Leroy Vinnegar (bass). But Cunningham pursues a broader sonic palette here: He recruited Fred Hersch’s acclaimed, namesake trio—featuring bassist John Hébert and drummer Eric McPherson—to join him in the core unit, and he invited trumpeter Randy Brecker and trombonist Wycliffe Gordon to play on a few tracks.



  • 01. Say A Prayer For Me
  • 02. I Could Have Danced All Night
  • 03. Just You Wait
  • 04. I Talk To The Trees
  • 05. If Ever I Would Leave You
  • 06. Thank Heaven For Little Girls
  • 07. The Heather On The Hill
  • 08. I Was Born Under a Wand'rin' Star
  • 09. They Call The Wind Mariah
  • 10. The Rain In Spain
  • 11. Brigadoon