Sylvie Courvoisier

Free Hoops (JAZZ)

Free Hoops Ver más grande

CD 351

Free Hoops

Sylvie Courvoisier



ITK 161023



CD 14,03 €

Sylvie Courvoisier presents a new trio album at the height of her mastery and success. Free Hoops follows the widely celebrated trio album D'Agala which "The New York Times" counted as among the best records of the year.

With every concert and every album this glorious trio's modus operandi becomes more clear – Sylvie Courvoisier, Drew Gress and Kenny Wollesen play morphing music by turns intricately detailed and ambiguously wide open. The music Courvoisier writes is rigorously organized and calls for ensemble precision, as a few thorny unisono heads demonstrate. But the music also harbors a misterioso, dreamlike quality that may surface at any time, induced by a wistful ostinato or moonlit piano arpeggio stubbornly repeated, or by a quiet episode that underscores the depth of the trio's sonic space.

They also do that good stuff we prize jazz for – the happy swing-ing, the coming together when they make complex material sing, and the flying apart when the players explore it on their own.


Mount Vernon, New York, December 20, 2019.


  • 01. Free Hoops for Mark Feldman
  • 02. Lulu Dance for my cats
  • 03. Just Twisted for John Zorn v
  • 04. Requiem d'un songe Tribute to Claude Thornhill
  • 05. As We Are for my Mom
  • 06. Birdies of Paradise for Drew Gress
  • 07. Galore for Kenny Wollesen
  • 08. Nicotine Sarcoline for my brother Stéphane
  • 09. Highway 1 for Christine Matthey