Don Cherry

Relativity Suite w/The Jazz Composers Orchestra (MJJ359 CC)

Relativity Suite w/The Jazz Composers Orchestra Ver más grande


Relativity Suite w/The Jazz Composers Orchestra

Don Cherry



LPS 162150




Este producto ya no está disponible

LP 16,52 €

A reissue of Don Cherry's Relatively Suite, originally released in 1973. Finally, available again on vinyl. Recorded with the Jazz Composer's Orchestra. At this time, Cherry was becoming increasingly interested in Middle Eastern and traditional African and Indian music, having traveled extensively and studied with Indian musician, Vasant Rai. This suite of songs was particularly influenced by the Indian Carnatic singing tradition, as can be heard from the very opening moments of the album. Featuring Carla Bley on piano, Charlie Haden on bass, and Ed Blackwell on drums, as well as an extended horn and string section, Cherry collaborated extensively with the Jazz Composer's Orchestra throughout the early '70s.


  • Don Cherry - trumpet, vocal
  • Frank Lowe - tenor sax
  • Carlos Ward - alto sax
  • Charlie Haden - bass
  • Carla Blay - piano
  • Ed Blackwell - drums

Recorded in New York, February 14, 1973


  • SIDE A
  • 01. Tantra
  • 02. Mali Doussn'gouni
  • 03. Desireless
  • SIDE B
  • 01. The Queen Of Tung-Ting Lake
  • 02. Trans-Love Airways
  • 03. Infinite Gentleness
  • 04. March Of The Hobbits