Carlos Nino & Miguel Atwood-Ferguson

Chicago Waves (IARC0033LP)

Chicago Waves Ver más grande

Chicago Waves

Carlos Nino & Miguel Atwood-Ferguson

International Anthem Recording Co.


LPS 162552




LP 20,64 €

Summer 2020 brings another singular release, Chicago Waves, by percussionist and soundscapist Carlos Niño and five-string violinist and electronicist Miguel Atwood-Ferguson. Both were among the collective lineup on Universal Beings.

Recorded live at Chicago's Co-Prosperity Sphere in Bridgeport, Chicago in late 2018, the eight-part suite is a 44-minute improvised fusion of ambient music, electronic improv and post-Alice Coltrane astral jazz (Niño is among Kamasi Washington's extended family of musicians). Shades of violinist Michael White and trumpeter and electronicist Jon Hassell are among the voices off. Niño and Atwood-Ferguson say the music was inspired by many commutes along Lake Shore Drive, which imprinted the "deep blue vastness" of Lake Michigan in their minds.


  • Carlos Niño - percussion, soundscapes
  • Miguel Atwood-Ferguson - 5-string violin, effects

Recorded live at Co-Prosperity Sphere, Chicago, on November 30th, 2018


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Part I
  • A2. Part II
  • A3. Part III
  • A4. Part IV
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Part V
  • B2. Part VI: Into Eternity
  • B3. Part VII
  • B4. Part VIII: Chicago Waves