Movement in the City

Black Teardrops (Limited Edition) (6001651179286)

Black Teardrops (Limited Edition) Ver más grande

Black Teardrops (Limited Edition)

Movement in the City



LPS 165695




LP 22,30 €

A really sweet electric set from the South African scene – long tracks that are overflowing with great saxophone and keyboard solos – played here by a really top-shelf group!

The sound's a bit like a more relaxed take on territory from CTI – with the keyboards from Pops Ismail at the core, next to electric bass that's nice and slow-stepping from Sipho Gumede – while Basil Manenberg Coetzee solos and tenor, and Robbie Jansen handles both alto and flute!

The lineup shifts a bit on one track – with Coetzee shifting to flute, and Ismail picking up some guitar next to the keyboards – but there's a wonderfully unified flow to the record, a warm sweet groove throughout.


  • 'Pops' M. Ismail - keyboards
  • Basil Manenberg Coetzee - tenor sax, flute
  • Robbie Jansen - alto sax, flute
  • Sipho Gumede - bass guitar
  • Roger Harry - drums
  • Monty Weber - drums


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Lament
  • A2. Black Teardrops
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Seagull
  • B2. Camel Walk