Joe Harriott

Chronology - Live 1968-1969 (JIB-09-M-CD)

Chronology - Live 1968-1969 Ver más grande

Chronology - Live 1968-1969

Joe Harriott

Jazz In Britain


DRJ 166610




CD 14,03 €


Unreleased work from alto genius Joe Harriott – two different slices of material from a very under-recorded point in his career!

The first five tracks feature Joe in that back to basics mode he was hitting at the time – working in a unique group that features Kenny Wheeler on trumpet and flugelhorn, Pat Smythe on piano, Ron Mathewson on bass, and Bill Eyden on drums – all players who are very open to modern ideas, but who also keep things on more of a groove here – with only a bit of the freedom that Harriott was bringing to his music a few years before!

And yet there's still a great tension that makes the set great – swinging jazz mixed with modernism – on titles that include the Horace Silver tunes "Down & Out" and "Psychedelic Sally", plus "WSIMC", "Chronology", and "Shadows".

The remaining two tracks on the set feature Joe in a very different setting – the large group of Harry South – the kind of mod jazz in 60s London, working here with a superb lineup that also features Kenny Wheeler and Ian Hamer on trumpets, Ray Warleigh on alto and flute, and Tubby Hayes and Alan Skidmore on tenor saxes!


  • ON TRACKS [1-5]
  • Joe Harriott (alto sax)
  • Kenny Wheeler (trumpet,flugelhorn)
  • Pat Smythe (piano)
  • Ron Mathewson (bass)
  • Bill Eyden (drums)
  • ON TRACKS ON [6 - 7]:
  • Joe Harriott (alto sax)
  • Harry South (conductor)
  • Greg Bowen, Derek Watkins, Ian Hamer, Hank Shaw, Kenny Wheeler, Les Condon (trumpet)
  • Chris Smith, Bobby Lamb, Gib Wallace, Danny Elwood (trombone)
  • Ray Warleigh (alto sax, flute)
  • Tubby Hayes, Alan Skidmore (tenor sax)
  • Louis Stewart (guitar)
  • Phil Bates (bass)
  • Spike Wells (drums)
  • Recorded live in London.[1 - 5]: The Joe Harriott Quintet - Recorded 4th September 1968.[6 - 7]: The Harry South Big Band featuring Joe Harriott - Recorded 23rd July 1969.


  • 01. Psychedelic Sally
  • 02. Down & Out
  • 03. W.S.I.M.C
  • 04. Shadows
  • 05. Chronology
  • 06. Themeology
  • 07. My Man's Gone Now