Wendell Harrison

Farewell to the Welfare (Limited Edition) (659457521318)

Farewell to The Welfare Ver más grande

Farewell to the Welfare (Limited Edition)

Wendell Harrison

Now Again


LPS 167141




LP 41,31 €

A real treasure from the Detroit scene of the 70s – a never-issued Tribe Records album by Wendell Harrison, and one that's got a bit more of a soul/funk vibe than some of the other sessions on the label!

The album's a key missing piece of the puzzle in Harrison's career – not as avant as some of his earlier recordings, but still a bit less polished than his later work too – with a strongly spiritual group that also features Ron English on guitar, Harold McKinney on keyboards and moog, and the great Phil Ranelin on trombone! Tracks are long, and overflowing with soul and spirit – and titles include "Tons & Tons Of BS", "Farewell To The Welfare", "Heavenese", "He's The One We All Know", and "Where Am I".


  • Ralph Jones (soprano sax)
  • Wendell Harrison (tenor sax, flute)
  • Phil Ranelin (trombone)
  • Kareem Harris (tuba)
  • Lopez Leon, Will Austin (bass)
  • George Davidson (drums)
  • Ron English (guitar)
  • Harold McKinney (keyboards)
  • Barbara Huby (percussion)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Farewell To The Welfare
  • A2. Heavenese
  • A3. He's The One We All Knew
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Where Am I
  • B2. Tons And Tons Of B.S.