Growing Concern, The

The Growing Concern (Limited Edition) (7427116396125)

The Growing Concern (Limited Edition) Ver más grande

The Growing Concern (Limited Edition)

Growing Concern, The

Life Goes On Records


LPS 168008




LP 16,51 €

The sole album by US Psychedelic Folk Rock unit was released in 1968 on Mainstream, the label ran by famous jazz producer Bob Shad. After launching a young Janis Joplin with the Big Brother And The Holding Company, he tried to repeat his commercial triumph with The Growing Concern.

However, the band was a different proposition altogether with its emphasis on beautiful vocal harmonies and fantastic guitar and organ work. Consequently, Shad only allowed the group into the studio on a single occasion, dropping them from the label after their eponymous debut.

The support of vocalists Bonnie MacDonald and Mary Garstki are an intrinsic part of the band's distinctive sound, and the songs contributed by organist Dan Passaglia, bassist John Pedley and guitarist Ralph Toms are more than equal to the offerings from more illustrious contemporaries such as Mike Hugg ("Mister You're A Better Man Than I") or Stephen Stills ("Sit Down I Think I Love You"). A true acid folk gem with distinctive progressive blues hooks that needs to be urgently rediscovered.


  • Pete Guerino - (guitar, lead vocals)
  • Ralph Toms - (lead guitar)
  • John Pedley - (bass)
  • Ralph Williams - (drums)
  • Dan Passaglia - (organ, vocals)V
  • Bonnie MacDonald, Mary Garstki - (vocals)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Hard Hard Year
  • A2. Edge Of Time
  • A3. Tomorrow Has Been Cancelled
  • A4. A Boy I Once Knew Well
  • A5. All I Really Want
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Mister You're A Better Man Than I
  • B2. What Kind Of Life
  • B3. Other Side Of Life
  • B4. I Know A Girl
  • B5. Sit Down I Think I Love You