Albert Ayler

The Hilversum Session w/ Don Cherry (769791973701)

The Hilversum Session w/ Don Cherry Ver más grande


The Hilversum Session w/ Don Cherry

Albert Ayler

Our Swimmer


LPS 169554




LP 24,78 €

Recorded in the Dutch city of Hilversum, The Hilversum Sessions presents Albert Ayler in all his blowzy, testifying glory, fronting a quartet that includes trumpeter Don Cherry, bassist Gary Peacock, and drummer Sunny Murray.

The repertoire includes five Ayler originals, notably his signature tunes 'Angels,' 'Ghosts,' and 'Spirits.' It's easy to forget how starkly original Ayler was, given the untold number of contemporary free saxophonists who've built entire concepts around his sax style.

This album is a welcome reminder. Imitators adopt surface characteristics of Ayler's music - manifested mostly in the use of certain 'extended' techniques - but very few capture the subtlety of which he was capable: the contrasts of dynamics, articulation, vibrato, register and phrasing; the sense of drama as a solo unfolds. Obviously, he's in collegial company here. However misused his example has been by lesser musicians, this music retains an everlasting power" -- Chris Kelsey, JazzTimes.


  • Albert Ayler - (tenor sax)
  • Don Cherry - (cornet)
  • Gary Peacock - (bass)
  • Sunny Murray - (drums)

Recorded November 9, 1964 Hilversum, The Netherlands


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Angels
  • A2. C.A.C.
  • A3. Ghosts
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Infant Happiness
  • B2. Spirits
  • B3. No Name