Dodo Marmarosa

Complete Trio Studio Recordings (LHJ 10119)

Complete Trio Studio Recordings Agrandir l'image

Complete Trio Studio Recordings

Dodo Marmarosa

Lone Hill Jazz


LHJ 110016

LHJ 10119



Complete Trio Studio Recordings

Plus de détails

CD 10,70 €

Contains all the recordings made by Marmarosa's trio, from the beginning of his career to the last studio session in Chicago. The first CD include the works for the legendary Dial and Savoy Label among others. The second CD offers two final recordings sessions, both in Chicago. One for the Argo label, issued on LP as Dodo's Back ! and the other one for Prestige.

Featuring Ray Brown, Barney Kessel, Harry Babasin, Sam Jones, Marshall Thompson

Recorded in Los Angeles, 1946-1947, and Chicago, 1961-1962


Disc 1: 79:31
01. Mellow Mood
02. Dodo's Blues
03. Raindrops
04. I've Got News for You
05. Compadoo
06. I'm In Love
07. Opus nº 5
08. You Thrill me So
09. Dodo's Bounce
10. Escape
11. Love Come Back to Me
12. Raindrops
13. Smoke Gets in your Eyes
14. Bopmatism
15. Bopmatism
16. Dodo's Dance
17. Trade Winds
18. Dary Departs
19. Cosmo Street
20. My Foolish Heart
21. Blue Room
22. Why Was I Born
23. The Night is Young
24. Bopmatism (alternate)
25. Dodo's Dance (alternate)
26. Trade Winds (alternate)
27. Dary Departs (alternate)
28. Dary Departs (alternate)
29. Cosmo Street (alternate)

Disc 2: 74:50
01. April Played the Fiddle
02. Why Do I Love You
03. Everything Happens to Me
04. Me and My Shadow
05. On Green Dolphin Street
06. Tracy's Blues
07. You Call It Madness
08. Mellow Mood
09. I Thought about You
10. A Cottage for Sale
11. The Song is You
12. Just Friends
13. Yardbird Suite
14. I Remember You
15. The Moody Blues
16. The Very Thought of You
17. Yardbird Suite (alternate)

"If jazz ever had a little boy genius lost, it was Dodo Marmarosa, one of the most brilliant pianists of the classic bebop era." -Scott Yanow, AMG