Sun Ra

The Futuristic Sounds of Sun Ra (LHJ 10234)

The Futuristic Sounds of Sun Ra Agrandir l'image


The Futuristic Sounds of Sun Ra

Sun Ra

Lone Hill Jazz


LHJ 113111

LHJ 10234



The Futuristic Sounds of Sun Ra

Plus de détails

CD 10,73 €

Featuring John Gilmore, Marshall Allen, Pat Patrick, Bernard McKinney, Ronald Boykins & Willie Jones.

Includes the complete album:
"The Futuristic Sounds Of Sun Ra" (Savoy's October 1961 LP)

+ Bonus Tracks:
The complete sessions from Saturn's 1960 "Holiday For Soul Dance", "Kingdom Of Thunder" from Saturn's 1960 LP "Fate In A Pleasant Mood" and Saturn's 1960/1961 "Sun Ra And His Myth Science Arkestra".

Total Time: 67:46 mins.

This release features the three complete sessions preceeding the 'Futuristic Sounds..." date. The first of the three dates featured here as BONUS TRACKS took place at Chicago's Wonder Inn during July 1960, and yielded only one track - an excellent version of "Early Autumn".

The second date which took place in late 1960, also produced one track: "Kingdom Of Thunder". The third and final session includes different tracks ("Distant Stars", "Onward, Space Aura", "We Travel The Spaceways", "Space Loneliness") recorded in Chicago in late 1960 or early 1961.
Bassism / Of Sounds And Something Else / What’s That? / Where Is Tomorrow? / The Beginning / China Gates / New Day / Tapestry From An Asteroid / Jet Flight / Looking Outward / Space Jazz Reverie / Early Autumn / Kingdom Of Thunder / Distant Stars / Onward / Space Aura / We Travel The Spaceways / Space Loneliness.