Kenny Clarke

Our Kinda Strauss (RW 106 DLP)

Our Kinda Strauss Agrandir l'image

Our Kinda Strauss

Kenny Clarke



LPS 121806

RW 106 DLP



Our Kinda Strauss

Plus de détails

LP 18,99 €



Of all the big bands that flourished during the 1960s, none was an innovative and featured better sidemen than the Clarke-Boland Big Band. This album features a complete reissue of the 1966 C-BBB Swing, Waltz, Swing album as well as unreleased material from 1967 and 1972 recording sessions. This is a unique compilation in that it features big band arrangements of waltzes by Johann Strauss, Jr. as well the the famous waltz from Richard Strauss' (no relation) opera Der Rosenkavalier. In addition to the jazz waltzes, there are also a number of compositions of Francy Boland's that were among the last to be recorded by the band before it disbanded for good in 1973.


  • Francy Boland - piano & co-leader
  • Kenny Clarke - drums & co-leader
  • With:
  • Trumpets:
  • Benny Bailey, Shake Keane, Jimmy Deuchar, Dusko Gojkovic, Ahmed Muvaffak Falay, Idrees Sulieman, Derek Watkins, Art Farmer
  • Trombones:
  • Ake Persson, Nat Peck, Erik van Lier
  • Saxes:
  • Derek Humble, Karl Drewo, Sal Nistico, Sahib Shihab, Johnny Griffin, Ronnie Scott, Tony Coe, Herb
  • Geller, Stan Robinson
  • Bass:
  • Jimmy Woode, Jr.
  • Drums:
  • Kenny Clare
  • Percussion:
  • Fats Sadi, Tony Inzalaco


  • SIDE A
  • 01. Fruelingsstimmen
  • solos:Shihab (fl,bar); Boland (p); Drewo (ts)
  • 02. By Strauss; Kaiserwalzer
  • solos:Shihab (fl,bar); Boland (p); Drewo (ts)
  • 03. Rosenkavalier
  • solos:Drewo (ts)
  • 04. Wives and Lovers
  • Solo: Humble (as)
  • SIDE B
  • 01. Lotus
  • Solos: Scott (ts); Shihab (ss); Coe (cl); Boland (org)
  • 02. My Favourite Things
  • Solos: solos:
  • Shihab (fl,bar); Sadi (vib); Bailey (tp)
  • 03. Nights in Warsaw
  • Solos: Humble (as); Keane (tp); Shihabn (bs); Baile (tp)
  • 04. Greensleeves
  • Solos: Bailey (tp), Keane (tp)
  • SIDE C
  • 01. Peter's Waltz
  • Solos: Humble (as); Griffin (ts); Shihab (bs)
  • 02. Cara Fea
  • Solo: Persson (tb)
  • 03. Night Lady
  • Solos: Drewo (ts); Boland (p); Persson (tb)
  • 04. Just Give Me Time
  • Solos: Drewo (ts); Persson (tb); Boland (p)
  • SIDE D
  • 01. Schoen ist die Welt
  • Solo: Drewo (ts)
  • 02. Keep on Keeping On
  • Solos: Bailey (tp); Nistico (ts); Shihab (fl)
  • 03. Lobsang
  • Solos: Bailey (flhn & tp), Boland (org); Geller (Eng. horn)