Lionel Hampton

Lionel ...Plays Drums, Vibes, Piano (LHJ 10312)

Lionel ...Plays Drums, Vibes, Piano Agrandir l'image

Lionel ...Plays Drums, Vibes, Piano

Lionel Hampton

Lone Hill Jazz


LHJ 117057

LHJ 10312



Lionel ...Plays Drums, Vibes, Piano

Plus de détails

CD 14,04 €

The outstanding album presented here showcases Hampton’s breathtaking talents during the early days of Stereophonic recordings.
The sextet session, Lionel, features Hamp alternating between vibes, piano and drums (he began his career as a drummer and recorded his fi rst vibraphone solo during the 1930 Louis Armstrong version of "Memories of You").
His approach to the piano was highly particular, as he usually played it with only on or two fingers per hand as if he were performing on the vibes.
His amazing technique on the instrument can be seen on many of his fi lmed performances.

As a bonus, we offer two complete sessions from the Silver Vibes album, which features such important modern jazz musicians as pianist Tommy Flanagan and drummers Osie Johnson and Elvin Jones, who plays on the two tunes from the second session. One of these tunes, "I Cant’ Get Started" wasn’t present on the original Silver Vibes album, and was only previously issued on a compilation LP (it appears here on CD for the fi rst time ever).
The remaining session from Silver Vibes is included on our companion volume Hamp’s Big Band . The other early Stereo effort by Lionel Hampton, this session features the master backed by his big band featuring trumpeters Cat Anderson and Donald Byrd.

1-12: LIONEL …PLAYS DRUMS, VIBES, PIANO Bobby Plater (fl, as, ts, cl), Lionel Hampton (vib, p, d, vcl), Oscar Dennard (p), Billy Mackel (g), Julius Brown (b), Wilbert "G.T." Hogan (d). New York, August 13 & 14, 1957.

*Bonus tracks (from SILVER VIBES):
Eddie Bert, Dick Hixson, Sonny Russo, Bobby Byrne (tb), Lionel Hampton (vib), Tommy Flanagan (p), Skeeter Best (g), George Duvivier (b), Osie Johnson (d).
New York, March 21, 1960.

Lionel Hampton (vib, xyl, celeste), Tommy Flanagan (p), Billy Mackel (g), George Duvivier (b), Elvin Jones (d).
New York, March 23, 1960.

1) Just One Of Those Things 3:32
2) Lazy Thoughts [How High The Moon] 3:23
3) The Man I Love 3:16
4) One Step From Heaven 3:08
5) Darn That Dream 3:39
6) Stardust 6:37
7) Tracking Problem 4:23
8) Lullaby Of Birdland 3:09
9) Blues For Stephen 2:54
10) And The Angels Sing 3:25
11) Our Love Is Here To Stay 3:00
12) I Know That You Know 2:48*
13) Skylark 3:49*
14) Day By Day 3:22*
15) Speak Low 3:39*
16) My Foolish Heart 3:50*
17) Poor Butterfl y 5:17*
18) Blue Moon 3:41*
19) I Can’t Get Started 3:39*