Maynard Ferguson

And His Birdland Dream Band (FSRCD 470)

And His Birdland Dream Band Agrandir l'image

And His Birdland Dream Band

Maynard Ferguson

Fresh Sound Records


ZZZ 117133




And His Birdland Dream Band

Plus de détails

Ce produit n'est plus en stock

CD 9,07 €

Featuring: Maynard Ferguson, Ernie Royal, Al Derisi, Nick Travis, Joe Ferrante, Stan Fishelson, Al Stewart, Nick Travis, Jimmy Nottingham (tp); Jimmy Cleveland, Eddie Bert, Sonny Russo (tb); Herb Geller (as); Al Cohn, Budd Johnson, Frank Socolow (ts); Ernie Wilkins.

This was one of the most exciting bands Maynard Ferguson ever led. A "Dream Band" assembled for the successful year they spent at Birdland in 1956, it had charts, specially commissioned by Ferguson, by some of the finest writers in contemporary jazz, including Bill Holman, Jimmy Giuffre, Marty Paich, Manny Albam, Ernie Wilkins and Johnny Mandel. With the rhythm section swinging all the way, the band's performance is inspired, marked by crisply powerful section work and exuberant solos from Ferguson, Cohn, Cleveland and Geller. This was a superior big band, ebullient, fiery and precise, its awesome power matched by writing that clearly stimulated the players. Exhilarating!


1. The Wailing Boat 3:07
2. Somebody Wants Me Down There 4:03
3. Maynard The Fox 2:48
4. Blue Birdland 4:11
5. Great Guns 3:13
6. Lady Bug 3:14
7. More West 2:32
8. Still Water Stomp 3:49
9. That Jones Boy 2:55
10. Rosebud 2:34
11. Button Nose 2:38
12. Little Girl Kimbi 3:53
13. Straight Up 3:36
14. Cervezita 3:03
15. Mogo 3:28
16. Sleep Softly 3:26
17. Geller's Cellar 3:59
18. Free Lee 2:42
19. Say It With Trumpets 3:00
20. Everybody Moan 4:21
21. Tell Me Funky 2:38
22. You Said It 2:56
23. Early Hours 3:48
24. Nightmare Alley 3:26

Recorded at Birdland 1956