Marge Dodson

In the Still of the Night + New Voice in Town (FSRCD 785)

In the Still of the Night + New Voice in Town Agrandir l'image

In the Still of the Night + New Voice in Town

Marge Dodson

Fresh Sound Records


ABS 139815




In the Still of the Night + New Voice in Town

Plus de détails

CD 9,91 €

2 LPs ON 1 CD

A youthful Marge Dodson made her recording debut with these two albums for Columbia, In the Still of the Night, in 1959, and New Voice in Town, in 1960. On them she revealed a warm, sultry voice, and a distinctively personal, jazz-inflected style marked by an honest consideration for the lyrical content of the song, enabling her to switch from moody ballads to swingers with facility. On top of these artistic qualities, in her live presentations she had a combination of glamour, taste and humor that connected with audiences and saw her hailed as a great new singing find.

Her repertoire on these albums covered most of the better standards, and the tasteful arrangements by Michael Colicchio and her husband Coleridge Perkinson provided an engaging framework.


MARGE DODSON sings in all tracks, backed by orchestras arranged & conducted by Michael Colicchio and Coleridge T. Perkinson, Jr.

[1-12] from the Columbia album In the Still of the Night

[13-24] from the Columbia album New Voice in Town.

Both sessions recorded in New York City, March 1959 (#1-12) and April 1960 (# 13-24)


01. Sand in My Shoes
02. Someone to Watch Over Me
03. Spring Is Here
04. But Not for Me
05. The End of a Love Affair
06. Looking for a Boy
07. Little Girl Blue
08. When Your Lover Has Gone
09. These Foolish Things
10. The Man I Love
11. I Cover the Waterfront
12. In the Still of the Night
13. They Can’t Take That Away from Me
14. Out of This World
15. Angel Eyes
16. You’d Be So Nice to Come Home To
17. Speak Low
18. ‘Round Midnight
19. This Can’t Be Love
20. By Myself
21. The Thrill Is Gone
22. No Moon at All
23. Dearly Beloved
24. Alone Together