Mel Torme

Swingin´On the Moon + Comin` Home Baby! (8892866)

Swingin´On the Moon + Comin` Home Baby! Agrandir l'image

Swingin´On the Moon + Comin` Home Baby!

Mel Torme

Masterjazz Records


MJR 139884




Swingin´On the Moon + Comin` Home Baby!

Plus de détails

Ce produit n'est plus en stock

CD 8,26 €

2 LPs ON 1 CD


This release contains two outstanding albums by Mel Tormé. The first is the long unavailable 1960 thematic LP Swingin’ on the Moon (Verve MGVS6-2144). Arranged by Russell Garcia, it compiles a dozen moon-related songs. This is followed by the 1962 album Comin’ Home Baby! (Atlantic SD8069), on which the singer is backed by a swing group conducted by Shorty Rogers. It features such stars as Rogers himself on flugelhorn, and saxophonists Bud Shank and Bob Cooper, and includes vocal versions of famous songs composed by jazzmen usually played as instrumentals. While some of this music has appeared before with inferior sound, this CD presents both albums newly and carefully remastered to offer the best possible sound quality. In addition, two extra songs which complete the Comin’ Home Baby! sessions but were not included on the original LP.


MEL TORMÉ, vocals on all tracks, plus:

[1-12] Swingin’ on the Moon
Orchestra conducted & arranged by RUSSELL GARCIA.
Los Angeles, August 3-5, 1960. Original sessions produced by Russell Garcia.

[13-26] Comin’ Home Baby
(14-23) & (25-26) Shorty Rogers & His Orchestra:
Shorty Rogers (flhrn, cond, arr), Joe Burnett (tp), Milt Bernhart (tb), John Kitzmiller (tu), Bob Cooper, Bud Shank (woodwinds), Emil Richards (vib), Mike Wofford (p), Joe Mondragon (b), Larry Bunker (d).
Hollywood, July 11, 13 & 16, 1962.

(13) & (24) Claus Ogerman (conductor/arranger) & His Orchestra.
New York, September 13, 1962.
All original sessions produced by Nesuhi Ertegun.


01 Swingin’ On The Moon
02 Moonlight Cocktail
03 I Wished On The Moon
04 Moon Song
05 How High The Moon
06 Don’t Let That Moon Get Away
07 Blue Moon
08 Velvet Moon
09 No Moon At All
10 Moonlight In Vermont
11 Ho, You Crazy Moon
12 The Moon Was Yellow
13 Comin’ Home Baby
14 Dat Dere
15 The Lady’s In Love With You
16 Hi-Fly
17 Puttin’ On The Ritz
18 Walkin’
19 Moanin’
20 Sing You Sinners
21 Whisper Not
22 On Green Dolphin Street
23 Sidney’s Soliloqui
24 Right Now
25 Walkin’ Shoes*
26 You Belong To Me*

Total time: 77:05
* Bonus Tracks: From the same sessions but not included on the original LP.