Orrin Evans

Liberation Blues (SSR-1409)

Liberation Blues Agrandir l'image

Liberation Blues

Orrin Evans

Smoke Sessions


SMK 142558




Liberation Blues

Plus de détails

Ce produit n'est plus en stock

CD 14,86 €

Orrin Evans is a bona fide, jazz original. Brimming with music and ideas, Orrin’s "Liberation Blues" debuts one of his most impressive projects yet, a new quintet lineup that includes Sean Jones, JD Allen, Luques Curtis, and Bill Stewart. The recording, made live at Smoke Jazz Club in New York City, occurred immediately following the passing of bassist Dwayne Burno, and the opening selections comprise the “Liberation Blues Suite” dedicated to his memory.


SEAN JONES, trumpet (except 7, 10, 11 & 12)
JD ALLEN, tenor saxophone (except 10, 11 & 12)
ORRIN EVANS, piano Luques Curtis, bass
+ JOANNA PASCALE, vocals (12 only)

Recorded live at Smoke Jazz Club, January 10 & 11, 2014


01. Devil Eyes
02. Juanita
03. A Lil’ D.A.B. a do Ya
04. A Free Man?
05. Liberation Blues
06. Simply Green
07. Anysha
08. Meant to Shine
09. Mumbo Jumbo
10. How High the Moon
11. The Theme
12. Encore: The Night has a Thousand Eyes