Clifton Chenier

Louisiana Stomp: 1954-1960 Recordings (263566)

Louisiana Stomp: 1954-1960 Recordings Agrandir l'image

Louisiana Stomp: 1954-1960 Recordings

Clifton Chenier

Hoo Doo Records


HOO 150002




Louisiana Stomp: 1954-1960 Recordings

Plus de détails

CD 8,26 €

This collector’s edition contains 29 tracks, including a wide selection of those fabulous tunes and hard-to-find sides Clifton Chenier recorded with his band for labels such as Elko, Specialty, Imperial, Argo, Zynn, and Chess Records’ subsidiary label Checker, between 1954 and 1960. Some of the material here isn’t available on other collections, nor have these recordings ever been previously compiled on one CD. An outstanding overview of Clifton Chenier, these early recordings form the building blocks of his incomparable musical legacy.


CLIFTON CHENIER, lead vocals and accordion, plus:
Phillip Walker, Cornelius Green (guitar), Louis Candy (bass),
James K. Jones (piano), Wilton Semien (drums),
Cleveland Chenier (washboard), Lionel Prevost (tenor saxophone), among others.

Recorded between 1954-1960.



01 Ay-Tete Fee
02 Country Bred
03 Tell Me
04 Rockin’ the Bop
05 Louisiana Stomp
06 Clifton Blues
07 Rockin’ Hop
08 Wherever You Go I’ll Go
09 Boppin’ the Rock
10 The Things I Did for You
11 Think It Over
12 Squeeze Box Boogie
13 The Cat’s Dreamin’
14 All Night Long
15 Yesterday (I Lost My Best Friend)
16 Opelousas Hop
17 I’m on My Way
18 Chenier’s Boogie
19 Clifton’s Dreamin’
20 Zodico Stomp
21 The Big Wheel
22 Bayou Drive
23 My Soul
24 It Happened So Fast
25 Goodbye Baby
26 Worried Life Blues
27 Hey, Ma Ma
28 Night and Day My Love
29 Rockin’ Accordion