Jerry Lee Lewis

Breathless: Original Sun Singles 1956-1962 (263594)

Breathless: Original Sun Singles 1956-1962 Agrandir l'image

Breathless: Original Sun Singles 1956-1962

Jerry Lee Lewis

Hoo Doo Records


HOO 151909




CD 12,39 €



Jerry Lee recorded most of his finest work between the mid ‘50s and the early ‘60s, including hits like “Great Balls of Fire”, “High School Confidential”, “Whole Lot of Shakin’ Going On”, “Breathless”, and “Let’s Talk About Us”, to name just a few. The aforementioned songs, and many others, have been included on this essential 2-CD set, which compiles Lewis’ 7” singles (A & B sides) issued by Sun Records between 1956 and 1962. In addition, this collector’s release contains 9 bonus tracks from the same period. Every effort has been made to replicate the incredible vibrancy of the original Sun material. These simple two-and-a-half-minute songs convey all of the sheer power and emotion of early rock ‘n’ roll.


JERRY LEE LEWIS, lead vocals and piano, plus:

Roland Janes (guitar), Billy Riley (guitar and bass),
Jay W. Brown, Cliff Acred (bass),
Jimmy Van Eaton, Buddy Harman (drums), among others.

Recorded in Memphis and Nashville, Tennessee, 1956-1962.


CD 1 TOTAL TIME: 61:07 Min.

01. Crazy Arms
02. End of the Road
03. Whole Lot of Shakin’ Going On
04. It’ll Be Me
05. Great Balls of Fire
06. You Win Again
07. Breathless
08. Down the Line
09. High School Confidential
10. Fools Like Me
11. Lewis Boogie
12. Break-Up
13. I’ll Make It All Up to You
14. I’ll Sail My Ship Alone
15. It Hurt Me So
16. Lovin’ Up a Storm
17. Big Blon’ Baby
18. Let’s Talk About Us
19. The Ballad of Billy Joe
20. Little Queenie
21. I Could Never Be Ashamed of You
22. Old Black Joe
23. Baby, Baby, Bye Bye
24. John Henry
25. Hang Up My Rock and Roll Shoes

CD 2 TOTAL TIME: 62:17 Min.

01. When I Get Paid
02. Love Made a Fool of Me
03. What’d I Say
04. Livin’ Lovin’ Wreck
05. Cold, Cold Heart
06. It Won’t Happen with Me
07. Save the Last Dance for Me
08. As Long As I Live
09. Money
10. Bonnie B
11. I’ve Been Twistin’
12. Ramblin’ Rose
13. Sweet Little Sixteen
14. How’s My Ex Treating You
15. Good Golly Miss Molly
16. I Can’t Trust Me
17. Don’t Be Cruel
18. Sixty Minute Man
19. Mean Woman Blues
20. Good Rockin’ Tonight
21. In the Mood
22. Ubangi Stomp
23. Jambalaya (on the Bayou)
24. It All Depends
25. When the Saints Go Marching In