Charlie Parker

Bluebird: Legendary Savoy Sessions w/ Miles Davis (EJC 55739)

Bluebird: Legendary Savoy Sessions w/ Miles Davis Agrandir l'image

Bluebird: Legendary Savoy Sessions w/ Miles Davis

Charlie Parker

Essential Jazz Classics


EJC 152881

EJC 55739



CD 8,26 €

Compiled by experts on Parker, this CD issue contains six sessions by Parker’s vintage 1945-1948 band, featuring two young musicians who were his best and most efficient collaborators (Miles Davis and Max Roach), plus two pianists who left their mark on the evolution of Bop (Bud Powell and John Lewis). The first session also features Dizzy Gillespie playing piano. As a result, we get some of the most authentic and meaningful samples of the new style: “Meandering” (inspired on “Embraceable You”), and, particularly, “Now’s The Time”, “Billie’s Bounce,” or the masterful, perfect blues “Parker’s Mood.” True landmarks in music.


CHARLIE PARKER, alto & tenor sax
MILES DAVIS, trumpet
on all tracks, plus:

Bud Powell, Dizzy Gillespie, John Lewis, Duke Jordan (p),
Curley Russell, Tommy Potter, Nelson Boyd (b), Max Roach (d).

Recorded in New York and Detroit, 1945-48.



01. Billie’s Bounce
02. Now’s The Time
03. Meandering
04. Donna Lee
05. Chasin’ The Bird
06. Cheryl
07. Buzzy
08. Milestones
09. Little Willie Leaps
10. Half Nelson
11. Sippin’ At Bells
12. Another Hair-Do
13. Bluebird
14. Klaunstance
15. Bird Gets The Worm
16. Barbados
17. Ah-Leu-Cha
18. Constellation
19. Parker’s Mood
20. Perhaps
21. Marmaduke
22. Steeplechase
23. Merry-Go-Round

TOTAL TIME: 64:25 Min.