Dhafer Youssef

Abu Nawas Rhapsody (687437790751)

Abu Nawas Rhapsody Agrandir l'image

Abu Nawas Rhapsody

Dhafer Youssef



JLD 155197




CD 12,39 €

Acclaimed for his fusion of world music with jazz, vocalist and oud player Dhafer Youssef focuses more on the acoustic side of jazz with an exciting quartet that includes pianist Tigran Hamasyan, bassist Chris Jennings and drummer Mark Guiliana.

This recording contrasts the sense of calm and serenity created by Dhafer's mesmeric voice and oud playing with Guiliana's trademark combination of energetic rhythmic multiple layers. The very special mix of musical elements and creative talent produces a new and original soundscape. With the musicians' commitment to exploring and experimenting paired with their subtlety and courage to be silent, it is sure to catch the ear of any attentive listener.


Dhafer Youssef, vocals, oud.
Tigran Hamasyan, piano.
Chris Jennings, bass.
Mark Guiliana, drums.


01. Sacré The Wine Ode Suite
02. Les Ondes Orientales
03. Khamsa The Khamriyyat of Abu Nawas
04. Interl'Oud
05. Odd Elegy
06. Ya Hobb In the Name of Love
07. Shaouk
08. Shatha
09. Mudamatan The Wine Ode Suite
10. Hayastan Dance
11. Sura
12. Profane The Wine Ode Suite