Little Milton

Long Distance Operator (600919)

Long Distance Operator Agrandir l'image

Long Distance Operator

Little Milton

Soul Jam


SOU 155458




CD 8,26 €

This release compiles 30 tracks Little Milton cut at the beginning of his career for different imprints like Sun, Meteor, Bobbin, and Chess Records’ subsidiary label Checker, between 1953 and 1962. Highlights include magnificent tunes such as the smash R&B single “So Mean to Me,” plus the stomper “I Need Somebody,” “I’m a Lonely Man,” the ballad “Cross My Heart,” and the rockin’ “Hey, Girl!”, among many others. These great sides are the building blocks of Little Milton's legendary musical legacy.


“LITTLE” MILTON CAMPBELL, vocals and electric guitar, plus:

James Carr, C.W. Tate (tenor sax), Oliver Sain, Lawrence Taylor (alto sax),
Larry Prothro (trumpet), Cleophas Johnson, Jesse Knight Jr. (bass),
Ike Turner, Fontella Bass (piano), Jerry Walker, Lonnie Hayes (drums),
among others.

Recorded in Memphis and St. Louis, between 1953 and 1962.


01 I Need Somebody
02 So Mean to Me
03 Lonely No More
04 Someone to Love
05 I’m in Love
06 Hey, Girl!
07 Dead Love
08 My Baby Pleases Me
09 Hold Me Tight
10 Same Old Blues
11 Long Distance Operator
12 I Found Me a New Love
13 Satisfied
14 Beggin’ My Baby
15 Somebody Told Me
16 If You Love Me, Baby
17 Alone and Blue
18 Losing Hand
19 Oh, My Little Baby
20 Saving My Love for You
21 Love at First Sight
22 Let’s Boogie, Baby
23 That Will Never Do
24 I’m a Lonely Man
25 Lookin’ for My Baby
26 Homesick for My Baby
27 Cross My Heart
28 Strange Dreams
29 I’m Tryin’
30 I Wonder Why

TOTAL TIME: 77:03 Min.