Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee

London 1958 (604988304428)

London 1958 Agrandir l'image

London 1958

Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee



GEN 155639




CD 7,42 €

Singer/harmonica player Sonny Terry and singer/guitarist Brownie McGhee first joined forces in 1942 and worked together as a duo for more than 40 years. Back in the 1950s, before the '60s Blues boom, they were among the very first authentic American Blues musicians to visit Europe and the first to reach a wider audience in the UK. They first came to Britain in April 1958 and the following month they recorded a number of sessions for Pye Records, including two full sessions on which they were backed by Chris Barber's Jazz band.

These recordings were issued on two LPs, Sonny, Brownie and Chris and Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee in London, plus an EP, the bluest original vinyl copies of which are still highly prized (and priced!) collector's items. These really are benchmark recordings. This material has been unavailable for more than a dozen years, which makes this a very welcome re-issue. 


CD 1:
01. Betty And Dupree
02. No Worries On My Mind
03. This Little Light Of Mine
04. Glory
05. Custard Pie
06. Key To The Highway
07. If I Could Only Hear My Mother Pray Again
08. Brownie's Blues
09. Sonny's Blues
10. Auto Mechanic Blues
11. Wholesale And Retail
12. Black Horse Blues
13. I Love You Baby
14. Just A Dream
15. Hooray (This Woman Is Killing Me)
16. Change The Lock On My Door
17. You'd Better Mind
18. Cornbread, Peas And Black Molasses
19. Climbing On Top Of The Hill
20. (I've Been) Treated Wrong
21. Fox Chase
22. Woman's Lover Blues
23. Southern Train
24. That's How I Feel (The Way I Feel)
25. Gone But Not Forgotten