Elvis Presley

Good Rockin' Tonight (772114 LP)

Good Rockin' Tonight Agrandir l'image

Good Rockin' Tonight

Elvis Presley



LPS 146866

772114 LP



LP 12,39 €


This quintessential set presents the rare and hard to find Elvis Presley 10” LP Good Rockin’ Tonight, issued in France by RCA with the reference number 130.352. This sensational compilation contained 8 early Sun Records takes recorded between 1954 and 1955. Good Rockin’ Tonight was originally released in 1958 presenting two different covers.

This edition showcases the most iconic of the two, depicting a photo of Elvis which would be later used on the back cover of the 1959 compilation LP 50,000,000 Elvis Fans Can’t Be Wrong (aka Elvis’ Gold Records, Vol. 2). This rare collector’s item appears here on the 12-inch format for the first time ever, with the addition of 8 bonus tracks (4 on each side) to bring up the running time of the original 10” LP to the length of a long play. This extra material consists of a few more smash hits from the same period, including the chart toppers “Heartbreak Hotel”, “Hound Dog”, and “Don’t Be Cruel”, among others.


ELVIS PRESLEY, vocals & guitar, plus:

TRACKS 1-4 on both sides:
Scotty Moore (g), Bill Black (b).
Recorded at Sun Studio, Memphis, Tennessee, between July 1954 and February 1955.


SIDE A, tracks 5 & 6: Same personnel as above except
Johnny Bernero (d) added on track 6.
Recorded at Sun Studio, Memphis, Tennessee, July 1955.

SIDE A, tracks 7 & 8: Elvis Presley (voc & g),
Scotty Moore, Chet Atkins (g), Bill Black (b), D.J. Fontana (d),
Floyd Cramer (p). Recorded at RCA Studios, Nashville, Tennessee, January 1956.

SIDE B replaces Cramer.
Recorded at RCA Studios, New York, between January and July 1956.


01. Good Rockin’ Tonight
02. I Don’t Care If the Sun Don’t Shine
03. That’s All Right
04. Blue Moon of Kentucky
05. Mystery Train*
06. I Forgot to Remember to Forget (*)
07. Heartbr eak Hotel (*)
08. I Was the One (*)


01. Baby, Let’s Play House
02. I ’m Left, You’re Right, She’s Gone
03. Milkcow Blues Boogie
04. Y ou’re a Heartbr eaker
05. H ound Dog (*)
06. D on’t Be Cruel (*)
07. Blue Suede Shoes (*)
08. Tutti Frutti (*)