Sun Ra Arkestra

Sound of Joy (DS-414)

Sound of Joy Agrandir l'image

Sound of Joy

Sun Ra Arkestra



LPS 157746




LP 24,78 €

The late pianist/bandleader/composer Sun Ra was known for his theatrical performances and for applying concepts of free jazz to a big band/orchestral context. SOUND OF JOY was recorded in 1957, during the Ra's Chicago sojourn, and is closer to the modern swinging sounds of Duke Ellington than to free jazz. Ellington was clearly an influence on Ra, and Ra combines this with the more progressive aspects of hard bop. SOUND OF JOY is ideal for Ra neophytes and Ra fans that want to hear his beginnings.


  • Art Hoyle & Dave Young (trumpets)
  • John Avant (trombone)
  • Pat Patrick (alto & baritone sax)
  • John Gilmore (tenor sax)
  • Charles Davis (baritone sax)
  • Sun Ra (piano, electric piano)
  • Victor Sproles (bass)
  • William Cochran (drums)
  • Jim Herndon (tympani, timbali)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. El Is a Sound of Joy
  • A2 Overtones of China
  • A3 Two Tones
  • A4 Paradise
  • A5 Planet Earth
  • SIDE B
  • B1 Ankh
  • B2 Saturn
  • B3 Reflections in Blue
  • B4 El Viktor