And the 4 Souls - Complete Recordings (FSRCD 614)

And the 4 Souls - Complete Recordings Agrandir l'image

And the 4 Souls - Complete Recordings

Fresh Sound Records


ABS 124516




And the 4 Souls - Complete Recordings

Plus de détails

Ce produit n'est plus en stock

CD 15,66 €

When Lenny McBrowne and the 4 Souls began gigging in Sacramento and San Francisco clubs they were critically hailed as the greatest promise for the future of West Coast jazz. The leader had gained much of his experience working with Harold Land and playing engagements with Sonny Rollins, Benny Golson and Curtis Fuller. His renowned finesse as a drummer was acquired while mastering the subtleties of his mentor, Max Roach.

In these sessions for Pacific Jazz and Riverside, he showed he had become one of the top drummers on the jazz scene, and his young musicians, average age 25, swing hard as a unit. Terry Trotter, Don Sleet and Daniel Jackson are here on top of the demands he placed on them.

They also gave singer Gloria Smyth strong support in the session she recorded with them, lending distinctive backing to launch the career of this fine young talent. But what stands out here above all is the rare gift of cohesion, thoroughly mastered by Lenny McBrowne and the 4 Souls.


CD 1
01. Soul Sisters
02. Invitation
03. Dearly Beloved
04. Lazinka's Tune<
05. Cerise
06. I Married an Angel
07. McBrowne's Galaxy
08. It Don't Mean a Thing
09. Sometimes I'm Happy
10. Running Wild
11. Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child

CD 2
01. Saudi
02. No Consideration
03. I Don't Know the Melody
04. Like Someone in Love
05. Eastern Lights
06. Even Dozen
07. Tryin' and Cryin'
08. Chicago Preferred


CD 1:
Tracks ##1-7 originally issued in LP as "Lenny McBrowne and the Four Souls" (Pacific Jazz ST-1)

Tracks ##8-11 taken from the Gloria Smyth album "Like Soul!" (World Pacific Stereo-1293).

CD 2:
Tracks ##1-8 originally issued in LP as "Eastern Lights" (Riverside RS 346).


Lenny McBrowne (d), Donald Sleet (tp), Daniel Jackson (ts), Terry Trotter (p), Herbie Lewis (b on CD-1), Jimmy Bond (b on CD-2). Gloria Smyth (vcl on CD-1 ##8-11).

CD 1, Track ##11 features only Gloria Smyth accompanied by Terry Trotter and Herbie Lewis.

CD 1, Recorded at Rex Productions Studio, Los Angeles, January 2, and March 21 (##8-11), 1960.

CD 2, Recorded at United Recording Studios, Hollywood, on October 13, 1960.

Sessions supervised by Dick Bock (CD 1) and Orrin Keepnews (CD 2)

24-Bit Digitally Remastered