Makaya McCraven

We´re New Again - A Reimagining (XL1006LP)

We´re New Again - A Reimagining Agrandir l'image

We´re New Again - A Reimagining

Makaya McCraven

XL Recordings


LPS 159774




LP 18,17 €


To mark the tenth anniversary of the release of I'm New Here , the thirteenth - and last - studio album from the legendary US musician, poet and author Gil Scott-Heron, XL Recordings will release a unique reinterpretation of the album by acclaimed US jazz musician Makaya McCraven. Titled We're New Again, the album will be released on 7th February 2020; exactly a decade after the release of Scott-Heron's original Richard Russell-produced recording. It's set to follow in the footsteps of Jamie xx's highly acclaimed 2011 remix album We're New Here and will be McCraven's first release of 2020, following the huge global acclaim heaped upon his 2018 album Universal Beings. One of the most vital new voices in modern jazz, McCraven is described by the New York Times as a Chicago-based drummer, producer and beat maker, [who] has quietly become one of the best arguments for jazz's vitality.


A1. Special Tribute (Broken Home Pt.1)
A2. I’m New Here
A3. Running
A4. Blessed Parents
A5. New York Is Killing Me
A6. The Patch (Broken Home Pt.2)
A7. People Of The Light
A8. Being Blessed
A9. Where Did The Night Go
B1. Lily Scott (Broken Home Pt.3)
B2. I’ll Take Care Of You
B3. I’ve Been Me
B4. This Can't Be Real
B5. Piano Player
B6. The Crutch
B7. Guided (Broken Home Pt.4)
B8. Certain Bad Things
B9. Me And The Devil