Miles Davis

The Lost Septet (Live in Vienna 1971) (SNRCD020)

The Lost Septet Agrandir l'image

The Lost Septet (Live in Vienna 1971)

Miles Davis

Sleepy Night


GEN 162041




Ce produit n'est plus en stock

CD 14,03 €


This recording is from a concert at The Wiener Konzerthaus, Vienna on November 5th 1971 during the bands 25 gig European tour. Miles was entering the second phase of his extended "electric" period that lasted from the late sixties, game changing albums In A Silent Way and Bitches Brew to the calmer waters of the Warner Brothers recordings in the eighties. The particular line-up on the tour never made a studio recording, making this pair of discs released almost fifty years after the event, even more important. Miles was very much influenced by the music of Jimmy Hendrix at the time, was using the wah wah pedal on his trumpet and released his equally radical "Live Evil" recording, just before the end of the tour.


  • Miles Davis- trumpet
  • Gary Bartz - alto & soprano sax
  • Keith Jarrett - electric piano, organ
  • Michael Henderson - electric bass
  • Ndugu Chancler- drums
  • Don Alias - percussion
  • Mtume - percussion

Live recording: November 5, 1971, Wiener Konzerthaus, Vienna (Austria).


  • CD ONE
  • 01. Directions
  • 02. Honky Tonk
  • 03. What I Say
  • 04. Sanctuary
  • CD TWO:
  • 01. It's About That Time
  • 02. Yesternow
  • 03. Funky Tonk
  • 04. Sanctuary (Reprise)