Billy Bang

Distinction Without a Difference (CvsDcd035)

Distinction Without a Difference Agrandir l'image

Distinction Without a Difference

Billy Bang

Corbett vs. Dempsey


CVD 162397




Ce produit n'est plus en stock

CD 16,51 €


A reissue of the long out-of-print first solo record by American violinist Billy Bang (1947-2011), recorded at Gaku Gallery in New York on August 12, 1979. Originally released on Hat Hut Records in 1980. Distinction Without A Difference features Bang's own compositions, extrapolated at length in an intimate live concert, as well as traditional and improvised material. Remastered from original tapes and augmented by newly discovered recordings from the same concert. Part of the large cache of historical Hat Hut records that Corbett vs. Dempsey continues to release. Classic American creative music on CD for the first time. Features five previously unreleased tracks.


  • Billy Bang - violin

Tracks 1 to 6 and 10 recorded at Gaku Gallery, New York, August 12, 1979.

Tracks 7 to 9 and 11 recorded in Tilberg, Netherlands, October 29, 1978.


  • 01. Improvisation For Sweet Space
  • 02. Loweski
  • 03. Part Of A Distinction Without A Difference
  • 04. Theme For Masters
  • 05. Sometime Later
  • 06. Skip To My Louv
  • 07. Prana (*)
  • 08. Echo Vamp (*)
  • 09. Subway Ride With Giuseppi Logan (*)
  • 10. A Pebble Is A Small Rock (*)
  • 11. Fiddle In The Floodlight (*)