Frank Foster

The Loud Minority - RSD (WWSLP49)

The Loud Minority - RSD Agrandir l'image

The Loud Minority - RSD

Frank Foster

We Want Sounds


LPS 163562




LP 30,56 €


Gatefold cover

Deluxe reissue of Frank Foster's The Loud Minority LP for RSD. Released on Bob Shad's Mainstream Records in 1972, it's a landmark album and one of the key political works of the 70s. Featuring an all-star cast of superb musicians including Elvin Jones, Stanley Clarke, Airto, Cecil Bridgewater and Marvin 'Hannibal' Peterson, it is also Dee Dee Bridgewater's earliest full recordings. This special edition includes a 20-page booklet featuring amazing unseen session photos recently unearthed, an introduction by Judd and Mia Apatow (Shad's grandchildren), an essay by British journalist Kevin Le Gendre and an exclusive interview of Cecil and Dee Dee Bridgewater by Paul Bowler. The album's original artwork as been recreated with original photos and the audio newly remastered from the original tapes


  • Kenny Rodgers - alto & baritone sax, bass clarinet
  • Gene Perla, Stan Clarke - bass
  • Omar Clay, Richard Pratt - drums
  • Elvin Jones - drums, percussion
  • Earl Dunbar - guitar
  • Airto Moreira - percussion
  • Harold Mabern, Jan Hammer - piano, electric piano
  • Frank Foster - tenor, alto & soprano sax
  • Dick Griffin - trombone
  • Hannibal Marvin Peterson - trumpet
  • Cecil Bridgewater, Charles McGee - trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Dee Dee Bridgewater - vocals


  • SIDE A
  • A1. The Loud Minority
  • A2. Requiem For Dusty
  • SIDE B
  • B1. J.P.'s Thing
  • B2. E.W. - Beautiful People