Mats Gustafsson

Anguish w/ Dalek & Hans Joachim Irmler (5060197761646)

Anguish w/ Dalek & Hans Joachim Irmler Agrandir l'image

Anguish w/ Dalek & Hans Joachim Irmler

Mats Gustafsson

Rare Noise Records


DRJ 163644




Ce produit n'est plus en stock

CD 12,38 €

4 Panel Digipack

The dark, impossibly intense dirges, industrial noise onslaughts and banshee-like free jazz wailing heard throughout Anguish could be an imposing soundtrack for a dystopian, post-apocalyptic future. This powerhouse, inter-generational offering and RareNoise Records debut brings together (as Anguish) an unlikely gathering of members of the New Jersey-based experimental hip-hop group dälek (electronic musician and vocalist Will Brooks with guitarist-keyboardist Mike Mare), the Swedish free jazz group Fire! Orchestra (tenor saxophonist Mats Gustafsson, drummer Andreas Werliin) and the classic ‘70s German krautrock band Faust (keyboardist and 68-year-old founding member Hans Joachim Irmler).

Recorded in just three days during the summer of 2018 at Faust’s Scheer Studios, located in a former factory perched on the banks of the Danube in Swabia, Germany, near the Swiss border, Anguish stands as a hard-hitting manifesto for the next evolution in the hip-hop legacy.


  • Will Brooks - vocals - Eventide/Elektron effect pedals, 3 notes on grand piano
  • Mats Gustafsson - tenor saxophone, live electronics, 3 notes on grand piano
  • Hans Joachim Irmler (Faust)- synthesizers, vocals
  • Mike Mare - guitar, electronics, synthesizer
  • Andreas Werliin - drums, percussions


  • 01. Vibrations
  • 02. Cyclical / Physical
  • 03. Anguish
  • 04. Gut Feeling
  • 05. Brushes For Leah
  • 06. Healer's Lament
  • 07. DEW
  • 08. A Maze Of Decay
  • 09. Wümme