New Jazz Orchestra

Le Dejeuner Sur L'Herbe (Stereo) (SVLP-9236)

Nouveau Le Dejeuner Sur L'Herbe (Stereo) Agrandir l'image

Le Dejeuner Sur L'Herbe (Stereo)

New Jazz Orchestra



LPS 163789




LP 33,04 €

A wonderful wonderful set from the British jazz scene of the late 60s – beautifully inventive large ensemble material, done under the direction of Neil Ardley – and featuring some of the best British jazz musicians of the time! The group's a showcase not only for creative young talent in the UK, but also for the growing sense of composition as well – and the music on the set is penned by Ardley, Michael Garrick, Mike Taylor, and Michael Gibbs – as well as new arrangements of work by Miles Davis and John Coltrane. As in the best material from Ardley, Garrick, and Gibbs, there's a really fresh way of coming together for the instrumentation – quite different than large group material in both the US, and even other areas of the 60s European scene – delivered with wonderful imagination by musicians who include Derek Watkins, Henry Lowther, Harry Beckett, and Ian Carr on trumpets; Michael Gibbs and Derek Wadsworth on trombones; Barbara Thompson on flute and soprano sax; Dick Heckstall Smith on tenor and soprano; Frank Ricotti on vibes; and even Jack Bruce on bass!.


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Le Déjeuner Sur L’herbe
  • A2. Naïma
  • A3. Angle
  • A4. Ballad
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Dusk Fire
  • B2. Nardis
  • B3. Study
  • B4. Rebirth