Ben Webster

Live at Pio's (ENJA 2038)

Live at Pio's Agrandir l'image

Live at Pio's

Ben Webster

Pure Pleasure


LPS 164916

ENJA 2038



LP 28,08 €

180g Analogue Audiophile vinyl

Remastered from the best available sources

A great small club date from Ben Webster – different than some of his European concerts of his final years, in that this one was done at a lounge in Rhode Island, and maybe has a bit more bite and focus overall! The tracks are short, and Webster gets superb rhythm accompaniment from the trio of Junior Mance on piano, Bob Cranshaw on bass, and Mickey Roker on drums – who really come out swinging, and push Ben to take some of his boldest solos of the period – plenty of bite throughout, and a fire that you don't always hear on his other 60s recordings.


  • Ben Webster - tenor sax
  • Junior Mance - piano
  • Bob Cranshaw - bass
  • Mickey Roker - drums

Recorded in Providence, Rhode Island, February 18, 1964


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Cookin' For T
  • A2. Gone With The Wind
  • A3. Sunday
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Pennies From Heaven
  • B2. How Long Has This Been Goin On?
  • B3. Sometimes I'm Happy