Gregory Tardy

If Time Could Stand Still (195269025649)

If Time Could Stand Still Agrandir l'image

If Time Could Stand Still

Gregory Tardy

WJ3 Records


DRJ 165124




CD 12,38 €


Gregory Tardy almost makes time stand still with the strength of this set – the kind of record that really reminds us what the saxophonist can do when he's given the chance – both as a leader, and a player – and as a writer, too – with strong original material that really has the album knocking it out of the park!

Tardy's developed a nice sense of bite in his tone over the years, but uses it in subtle ways, too – a gentle current of darkness that never overstates itself, but really has a gentle power on the record – as Gregory blows with a core combo that features Keith Brown on piano, Alexander Claffy on bass, and Willie Jones III on drums – plus guest trumpet from Alex Norris on two tracks.


  • Gregory Tardy - tenor sax
  • Alex Norris - trumpet on tracks 2 & 7
  • Keith Brown - piano
  • Alexander Claffy - bass
  • Willie Jones III - drums

Big Orange Sheep Recording Studios, New York, June 19 & 20, 2019


  • 01. A Great Cloud Of Witnesses
  • 02. Absolute Truth
  • 03. Blind Guides
  • 04. Everything Happens To Me
  • 05. I Swing Because I'm Happy
  • 06. If Time Could Stand Still
  • 07. Message In The Miracle
  • 08. It Is Finished