Wadada Leo Smith

a Love Sonnet For Billie Holiday (TUM CD 060)

a Love Sonnet For Billie Holiday Agrandir l'image

a Love Sonnet For Billie Holiday

Wadada Leo Smith

Tum Records


TUM 165807

TUM CD 060



CD 14,03 €


A Love Sonnet For Billie Holiday by Wadada Leo Smith, Jack DeJohnette and Vijay Iyer brings the three artists together for the first time in this meeting of creative giants. The recording is a unique artistic collaboration featuring compositions by all three of its participants.

Wadada Leo Smith first met and played with Jack DeJohnette in the late 1960s and the two have collaborated with increasing frequency since DeJohnette participated in the first recording of Smith’s Golden Quartet more than two decades ago. Smith’s and Iyer’s first collaboration, in a later edition of the Golden Quartet, also goes back almost two decades. Nevertheless, the recording of A Love Sonnet For Billie Holiday marks the first time these three unique artists have participated in the same project and also the first time DeJohnette and Iyer have played together.


  • Wadada Leo Smith - trumpet
  • Vijay Iyer - piano, Fender Rhodes, Hammond B-3 and electronics
  • Jack DeJohnette - drums and percussion


  • 01 Billie Holiday: A Love Sonnet
  • 02 Deep Time No.1
  • 03 The A.D. Opera: A Long Vision with Imagination, Creativity and Fire, a dance opera
  • 04 Song for World Forgiveness
  • 05 Rocket