Various Artists

Mike Taylor Remembered (Limited Edition) (LANRH001)

Mike Taylor Remembered (Limited Edition) Agrandir l'image

Mike Taylor Remembered (Limited Edition)

Various Artists

Lantern Heights


LPS 167068




LP 24,78 €

‘The Syd Barrett of the avant-jazz scene’ British jazz composer, pianist, songwriter, Mike Taylor died tragically young, leaving just two albums as well as co-writes with Ginger Baker for Cream’s Wheels Of Fire album to his name.

In 1973, under the direction of Neil Ardley, several of the performers who had worked with him recorded an album of Taylor’s surviving orchestral music, jazz tunes and songs as a memorial to him and to preserve his work as a composer and song writer for posterity. Taken from Ardley’s master tapes, this is their critically-acclaimed tribute to a master of his art by friends and colleagues, themselves representing a cross-section of the cream of modern British jazz talent of the day.


  • Greg Bowen, Henry Lowther, Ian Carr, Tony Fisher (trumpet, flugelhorn)
  • Chris Pyne, Davis Horler (trombone)
  • Barbara Thompson (flute, soprano sax)
  • Ray Warleight (alto sax)
  • Stan Sulzmann (flute, alto sax)
  • Bob Efford (oboe)
  • Dave Gelly (clarinet)
  • Bunny Gould (bass clarinet)
  • Peter Lemer (piano, synthesizer)
  • Alan Branscombe (vibes)
  • Norma Winstone (vocals)
  • Chris Laurence, Ron Mathewson (bass)
  • John Hiseman (drums, percussion)
  • Neil Ardley (conductor)


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Half Blue / Pendulum
  • A2. I See You
  • A3. Son Of Red Blues / Brown Thursday
  • A4. Song Of Love
  • A5. Folk Dance No 2
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Summer Sounds, Summer Sights
  • B2. The Land Of Rhyme In Time
  • B3. Timewind
  • B4. Jumping Off The Sun
  • B5. Black And White Raga