Mathias Eick

When We Leave (ECM 2660 LP)

When We Leave Agrandir l'image

When We Leave

Mathias Eick



LPS 167879

ECM 2660 LP



LP 20,64 €

When We Leave is trumpeter/composer Mathias Eick's fifth leader outing for ECM and his first since 2018's acclaimed Ravensburg. Recorded over two days in November 2020, his sidemen include violinist Håkon Aase, pianist Andreas Ulvo, bassist Auden Erlien, drummers Thorstein Lofthus and Helge Norbakken, and pedal steel guitarist Stian Carstensen. All but the steel player -- who has also worked with Eick before -- appeared on Ravensburg. The trumpeter composed all seven pieces here; they are each identified by a single-word title. Fans of Jaga Jazzist, Eick's other band, will need to adjust their expectations. These compositions reflect the trumpeter's long-held preoccupation with the murky spaces between folk music and modern European jazz.

Eick's composing on When We Leave is muted yet rich, lovely, and sophisticated. He understands exactly how to write to this particular ensemble's strengths, and draws them out individually to express, along with him, longing and vulnerability.


  • Mathias Eick (trumpet, keyboard, voice)
  • Håkon Aase (violin, percussion)
  • Andreas Ulvo (piano)
  • Audun Erlien (bass)
  • Torstein Lofthus (drums)
  • Helge Andreas Norbakken (drums, percussion)
  • Stian Carstensen (pedal steel guitar)

Recorded August 2020 at Rainbow Studio, Oslo


  • SIDE A
  • A1. Loving
  • A2. Caring
  • A3. Turning
  • SIDE B
  • B1. Flying
  • B2. Arvo
  • B3. Playing
  • B4. Begging