Elvin Jones

Revival - Live at Pookie's Pub (602445872053)

Revival - Live at Pookie's Pub Agrandir l'image

Revival - Live at Pookie's Pub

Elvin Jones

Blue Note


LPS 169845




LP 41,31 €

deluxe 180g 3-LP gatefold SET

extensive booklet & photos by Francis Wolff and others

Revival: Live at Pookie's Pub is a thrilling previously unissued live recording of Elvin Jones’ quartet that captures the legendary drummer’s emergence as a bandleader at a little-known club in New York City where he had a weekly residency after leaving John Coltrane's band in the late 1960s. Featuring Joe Farrell, Billy Greene, and Wilbur Little, Revival was recorded between July 28-30, 1967, just two weeks after Coltrane died on July 17.

This set includes an extensive booklet with stunning photos by Francis Wolff, Ozier Muhammad, Christian Rose, and others; essays by GRAMMY-winning author and co-producer Ashley Kahn, co-producer Zev Feldman, executive producer Don Was, and the original recording engineer Bob Falesch; interviews and statements by drummers Alvin Queen and Michael Shrieve, pianist Richie Beirach, and Elvin Jones band alumni Pat LaBarbera, Gene Perla, and Dave Liebman.


  • Elvin Jones – (drums)
  • Joe Farrell – (tenor saxophone, flute)
  • Billy Greene – (piano)
  • Larry Young – (piano (on “Gingerbread Boy”)
  • Wilbur Little – (bass)

Recorded at Pookie’s Pub, New York, NY, July 28-30, 1967


  • LP ONE
  • A1. Keiko’s Birthday March
  • B1. Gingerbread Boy (featuring Larry Young)
  • B2. 13 Avenue B
  • ______________________________
  • LP TWO
  • C1. My Funny Valentine
  • C2. M.E.
  • D1. On the Trail
  • ______________________________
  • E1. Softly as In A Morning Sunrise
  • E2. Raunchy Rita
  • F1. Oleo