Wendell Harrison & Phil Ranelin

A Message From The Tribe (2nd Version) (PCD-94108)

A Message From The Tribe (2nd Version) Agrandir l'image

A Message From The Tribe (2nd Version)

Wendell Harrison & Phil Ranelin



GEN 170071




Ce produit n'est plus en stock

CD 22,30 €


Genius work from the Detroit underground of the 70s - one of the greatest records ever on the now-famous Tribe Records label, and a masterpiece of soul, jazz, and righteous spirit!

The session's headed by tenor player Wendell Harrison - and it's got an all-star Motor City lineup that includes Marcus Belgrave on trumpet, Phil Ranelin on trombone, Jeamel Lee on vocals, Charles Eubanks on electric piano, and Charles Moore on flugel horn.

The tracks have a spacious spiritual approach that recalls some of the later Archie Shepp on Impulse - a blend of soul jazz with slight touches of electric instrumentation, some vocals, and a very progressive spirit overall - stepping proud in the new freedoms of the 70s, yet still swinging and very groovy.


  • Reggie (Sho Bee Doo) Fields - (acoustic bass)
  • Will Austin - (electric bass)
  • Aaron Neal - (bass clarinet)
  • Billy Turner, Ike Daney - (drums)
  • Charles Eubanks - (electric piano)
  • Wendell Harrison - (tenor sax, flute)
  • Phillip Ranelin - (trombone)
  • Charles Moore, Marcus Belgave - (trumpet, flugelhorn)
  • Jeamel Lee - (vocals)


  • 01. What We Need
  • 02. Angela's Dilemma (Instrumental)
  • 03. Angela's Dilemma (Vocal)
  • 04. How Do We End All Of This Madness (Instrumental)
  • 05. How Do We End All Of This Madness (Vocal)
  • 06. Wife
  • 07. Merciful
  • 08. Beneficent