Fletcher Henderson

Cool Fever - Digipack (BMCD 0817)

Cool Fever - Digipack View larger


Cool Fever - Digipack

Fletcher Henderson

Blue Moon


ZZZ 130259

BMCD 0817



Cool Fever - Digipack

More details

This product is no longer in stock

CD 9,07 €

Presented in DIGIPACK
For the First Time on CD
Original Stereophonic Recordings
Newly Remastered in 24-Bit HQ Sound

This album reunited many members of the legendary Fletcher Henderson band in a set that recalled the tradition of big-band swing and stellar soloists. It is not only a reunion, but also a recreation of the sound and style that foreshadowed the heyday of the big white bands that borrowed so much from outfits such as Henderson’s.

The storming drive and roaring spirit is clearly evident in the section work and in the wild succession of solos. Rex Stewart’s cornet and the three trumpets lend constant solo quality to the set, and Hawkins and Webster, seminal figures on the tenor saxophone, both play magnificently, while Buster Bailey’s fluid clarinet and Jefferson’s alto are heard in several swinging, warm, and expertly controlled solos.


01. SUGAR FOOT STOMP (Oliver-Armstrong) 4:15
02. A HUNDRED YEARS FROM TODAY (Young-Washington) 4:14
03. THREE THIEVES (Stewart) 4:36
04. HONEYSUCKLE ROSE (Waller-Razaf) 7:32
05. WRAPPIN' IT UP (Henderson) 6:38
06. 'ROUND ABOUT MIDNIGHT (Monk-Williams) 3:25
07. THE WAY SHE WALKS (Stewart) 4:16
09. CASEY STEW (Casey) 5:01
10. KING PORTER STOMP (Morton) 7:04 (*)

(*) Unedited Mono Version

Original sources:

Tracks #1-8 were originally issued
on Jazztone as "The Big Reunion"
Fletcher Henderson All Stars in Hi Fi,
Under the direction of Rex Stewart" (J 1285).

Later reissued on Urania Records
as "Cool Fever" (USD 2012).


Rex Stewart, Emmett Berry, Taft Jordan, Joe Thomas (tp), J.C. Higginbotham, Benny Morton, Dickie Wells (tb), Garvin Bushell, Hilton Jefferson (as), Coleman Hawkins, Ben Webster (ts), Haywood Henry (bs), Buster Bailey (cl), Al Casey (g), Red Richards (p), Bill Pemberton (b), and Jimmy Crawford (d).

Dick Vance replaces Berry, Norman Thornton replaces Henry on #4,5 & 7.
Stewart, Hawkins, Jefferson, The Trombones and Rhythm play on #2,3,6 & 9.

Recorded in New York City, November 26 & 29, and December 2, 1957.

"The Big Reunion" was produced especially
for Jazztone Society by George T. Simon.

Recording engineer: Ernie Oelrich

Photos by Kal Weyner.

Produced for CD release: Jordi Pujol

Stereo 24-Bit Digitally Remastered


Additional note:

As George T. Simon reports in his excellent liner notes, all the soloists except Jordan, Casey and Richards, at one time or another, worked with Henderson.

Not all the tracks are big-band chargers. Jim Timmens wrote four arrangements for a smaller group, giving Hawkins and Jefferson opportunity to play ballads.

Under the supervision of jazz writer and producer George T. Simon, this album was recorded and originally issued on LP in highfidelity mono on the Jazztone label as The Big Reunion, and later in stereo on Urania Records, under the title Cool Fever.